March Madness 2012

March Madness Basketball News

Come March and the basketball playing crowd of United States are engulfed in the frenzy of March Madness. This spring basketball extravaganza is one of the most awaited events of the year for every college ball betting enthusiast. Scheduled to be held next month, this tournament decides who takes the national college basketball championship.

HOT Current March Madness Promotions

Online betting sites for betting on the March Madness

Sportsbook U.S. Citizens? Deposit Bonus Sportsbook Review Visit
bovada basketball betting basketball $100 Free Play Bonus Bovada Review Visit
Bodog basketball betting 100% up to $200 Bodog Review Visit
Bodog All Reviews

March madness basketball is the fond name given to the single elimination basket ball matches held among 68 basketball teams from different colleges. It is also known as the Big Dance because the entire tournament is nothing less than that – a happy, thrilling, exhilarating and fun carnival. The tournament is always conducted in the month of March and organized by National Collegiate Athletic Association. This tournament goes way back to 1939 when Harold Olsen, the then university coach of Ohio state university, thought up an idea of holding a major basketball tournament for college teams. Back when the tournament was initiated, it was conducted by National Association of Basketball Coaches. Today, this is one of the most popular and loved basketball betting events of the year.

In all, 68 teams participate in the tournament. Among these, 31 teams are premium teams that are automatically included in the tournament. The other 37 teams are picked by NCAA and are included in the tournament as at-large teams. All the 68 teams are divided into 4 groups and elimination rounds are played over three weekends. The tournament spans all through the month of March and all over the country in neutral venues handpicked by the organization committee. Each weekend knocks out 75% of the teams, so that only the remaining few progress to the final matches. The names given to these eliminations are very alluring.


From 68 teams, the number of teams reach “Sweet Sixteen” stage and from there, the best four teams reach the “Final Four”. The first weekend in April is when the final is played and the excitement in the air is palpable. As adrenaline pumped college students enter the arena to fight out to the finish, the crowds roar their approval and the environment turns completely electric. So popular has this tournament grown that it is covered by some of the biggest national television channels. You can watch every one of these 67 matches in TNT, CBS, truTV and TBS.


The most popular teams on the circuit are UCLA which has won the title 11 times, University of Kentucky which has won 7 titles and with 5 titles each, University of North Carolina and Indiana University are at next in line. Duke University has won 4 titles so far.


This year, the matches are to begin on the 13th of March and the tournament is being touted as the biggest ever. New Orleans is to host the Final Four and this place is sure to have a flood of tourists from all parts of the country to have a share of what is undoubtedly one of the most exciting months in America, probably second only to January, when the President takes oath of office once every four years.


Leave a Reply